Press release | Press releases | Writing



WASHINGTON – United States Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL) and United States Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) today presented the Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Area Reauthorization Act, which would allow the Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Area (ALNHA) until 2038, an additional 15 years after the current expiration date of 2023. The bill would allow Illinois and Americans to visit and learn about it more on the historical and cultural impact of the ALNHA and The Lincoln Legacy for years to come.

“As a resident of Springfield and the Land of Lincoln, I firmly believe that we must continue to preserve the history of the Abraham Lincoln Heritage Area and his namesake. With such a rich history, the ALNHA has much to teach future generations about the life and legacy of President Lincoln during one of the most significant periods in our country’s history. I am proud to offer my support so that the ALNHA has access to the funds it needs ”, said Durbin.

“President Lincoln is a true American hero who extended freedom and liberty to many and worked tirelessly to guide our country through one of our most difficult times. Our democracy would not be what it is today without its leadership ”, said Duckworth. “I am proud to join Senator Durbin in introducing this bill to continue to honor President Lincoln’s legacy while providing more opportunities for economic growth to communities in central Illinois.

Congressman Darin LaHood (R-IL-18) introduced complementary legislation to the House of Representatives.

In 2008, Durbin was instrumental in establishing the ALNHA to promote the heritage and preservation of Lincoln in central Illinois. The ALNHA covers 43 counties and includes more than 300 historic sites and five scenic drives.

In 2019, the Senate overwhelmingly passed legislation introduced by Durbin and Duckworth that expanded the Lincoln National Heritage Area in Illinois to include Livingston County, the town of Jonesboro in Union County, and the town of Freeport in Stephenson County. the An Act to Amend the Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Zone Act adopted in the Senate as part of the Natural Resources Management Act.


Previous post Next post


Comments are closed.